Current Skincare Routine

I never use to care much about skin care; I never really saw the need to do anything drastic with it because it wasn’t until September 2016; when I started I getting into makeup heavily. I figured if I took better care of my skin, my makeup would look better – but in all honesty, I’ve had more breakouts & more texture since starting to use skin care products. Has anyone else noticed this too, or is it just me?

Before I started into this whole makeup addiction; I would literally just wash my face with a bar of soap while I showered & that was it. Now; here I am trying out new face washes, new facials masks, using toners?! I never even knew what a toner was until recently. I’m thinking with all the issues my skin’s been having – it’s most likely just trying to adjust to all these new things I’ve been trying & doing; I’m hoping. Or who knows, it could be stress, the weather, my diet, etc.

If you’d like to know what products I use daily/nightly – keep on reading!

Please keep in mind we all have different skin types; so just because these products have been working for me, it doesn’t necessarily mean they’ll work for you. I have a combination skin type – I’m slightly oily in my T-zone but dry in other areas. I also suffer from breakouts (normally during “that time” of the month), texture, acne scarring & I’m also blackhead-prone.

Nightly Skin Care Products

In the morning I usually just wash my face with bar soap & use a moisturizer. I do my skin care routine at night while I shower & before bed.

01The first product I use is the Pond’s Cold Cream Cleanser. It’s a deep moisturizing cleanser & makeup remover. I use this before everything else to get rid of my makeup. This little jar of magic literally melts off my makeup within seconds & also leaves my skin feeling moisturized. I try not to use makeup wipes that often because they tend to dry my skin out even more than it already is. I received this product complimentary of the PinchMe sample subscription box – I didn’t buy this myself but if you wanted to purchase it, you could probably find this at Walmart for $6.97CAD. You get 6.4oz of product so you definitely get a lot of product for the affordable price. *Tip: Coconut Oil works just as well to melt your makeup off!

img_0751After that I wash my face while I shower using the Philosophy Purity Cleanser. I purchased the 8oz bottle on Sephora.ca for $32CAD. It’s a bit more pricey but it’s a really nice cleanser. It hasn’t broke me out (a lot of the face washes I’ve tried have in the past) but it does leave my skin feeling a little bit on the dry side. Besides that it really does clean the skin; especially if the Pond’s cleanser didn’t get all the makeup off. I was actually recommended this product from Brook (primpinainteaasy) on Instagram & I think if you’re able to get your hands on this – it’s definitely a great buy!

03.pngNext, I go in with another face wash – yes, I’m extra & I use two different face washes. The only reason why I use this next one is because it brings back some of the moisture to my skin & definitely get even more of the dirty & junk off. I love the Formula 10.0.6 Best Face Forward Daily Foaming Cleanser. I purchased this myself at Walmart for $9.97CAD. You get 5oz of product & it smells like Passionfruit & Green Tea. When I first smelled this, I couldn’t stop! It smells amazing & leaves your skin feeling really soft afterwards.

04.pngOnce I get out of the shower, I go in with my Neutrogena Pore Refining Toner. I purchased this at Walmart as well for $9.88CAD. It claims that you’ll see visibly reduced pores & fine lines – however, I didn’t see that right away. I had to use this for about a week before I started seeing any difference with my large pores. It’s still a great toner, it feels refreshing on the skin & might give you a slight tingle. It also works really well to get rid of any other dirt or junk on your face that your wash may have missed. Although, I do find that if I don’t go in with a moisturizer after using this; my skin feels super dry. It does leave the skin feeling a bit tight which I kind of like the feeling of. All in all, it’s a great toner if you’re on a budget because it’s affordable & does the job.

05.pngLastly, in my “nightly” routine is my moisturizer. I tend to go back & forth between two of my favorites; which are the Simple Kind to Skin Replenishing Rich Moisturizer ($13.27CAD /4.1oz) & the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Moisturizer ($9.97CAD/3.9oz). The Simple moisturizer tends to sink into the skin rather quickly but it does leave your skin feeling soft & smooth. It doesn’t have any smell that I’ve noticed – which is good if you’re sensitive to scent. It’s just your basic moisturizer without any major claims or benefits. It’s a “simple” moisturizer that does exactly what it’s meant for.

The Neutrogena moisturizer is probably my most favorite out of the two. It smells like pink grapefruit & my boyfriend always comments on how nice my face smells when I use this. It doesn’t sink into your skin quite as quickly but it doesn’t leave your skin feeling greasy or oily (hence the name, oil free) either. I’m almost completely finished the bottle I have, I’m literally down to scraping the last bits of it. This is probably one product I can see myself repurchasing in the future. It contains salicylic acid which will help with any breakouts you may be suffering from.


*Note: I am not a skin care professional so please take everything I’ve said with a grain of salt. My skin is not perfect even in the slightest bit & I’m always trying out new products to help my skin for the better.

I will be doing a post about my favorite scrubs & masks in the future. Keep an eye out for that if you’re interested!

2 thoughts on “Current Skincare Routine

  1. Bethany says:

    Girl I definitely am running into the same issue as you have, I am just now really getting into skin care & trying to form a routine/try products.. I have breakouts now more than ever since Ive started trying skin care products!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

