February 2017: Hits & Misses

I’m only a day late on this which isn’t too bad honestly. I actually had a lot of hits & misses originally, but I ended up narrowing down both categories. I shouldn’t have to say this; but I’ll put in a little disclaimer anyway – if you love these products; that’s awesome but they just didn’t work for me personally. My misses are also not to talk bad about the company in any way, shape or form. This is just my personal opinion & should be taken with a grain of salt.

If you’re curious to know what I’ve been loving & not loving so much in the month of February – just keep on reading!

Hits

I have two palettes that I’ve been obsessed with for the last couple months – them being the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette & the Kat Von D Pastel Goth palette. I’ve been using both of these a lot over the last month or so & I’ll briefly explain why for each.

01.pngI was very skeptical about purchasing the ABH palette because there’s so much hype surrounding it. I took the plunge & ended up purchasing it through the ABH website only because Sephora was out of stock for a long time. I ended up getting hit with custom fees from FedEx for the ABH palette but it’s so worth the money. I can fully understand why people love it so much. The formula is amazing! Each shadow is extremely buttery, packed with pigmentation & very little fallout or kickback. I think the price is pretty fair (it was $40 something on the website) because you do get quite a lot of product. I’m definitely super happy with this purchase & I’ve been obsessed! If you’re into the warm tones with hints of pink, you definitely need to try this out!

I was also very nervous about getting the Pastel Goth palette (I purchased this through Sephora.ca); only because I hadn’t tried nor owned any Kat Von D product before. I bought this because it’s unique; I don’t have a lot of pastel colors in my collection. However, it is pretty pricey for not getting that many shadows. The quality is really nice & the packaging is super cute. The shadows themselves are really smooth & pigmented (there’s only one shade that I don’t really care for). The only thing I don’t like about this palette is the fact you can’t make a complete look unless you’re doing a specific rainbow or pastel look. But they work so well for transition shades depending on what color of eye look you want.

The next product I’ve been really liking is the Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer. Again, this product is super hyped up but I’ve been wanting to get it for quite awhile now. My local Walmart finally had it in stock so I snatched it up right quick… not knowing that it was almost $20CAD! Which is pretty darn pricey for being a drugstore bronzer. But, it’s really nice; the color doesn’t pull orange or red like most bronzers do. The formula is buttery & blends out on the skin really nicely too.

Next up is a foundation – yeah, you heard me.. a foundation. If you know me, you know my issues I have with foundations. But the PurCosmetics Bare It All Foundation is amazing (I was sent this through PR but my opinion is still 100% honest). I really like that it’s a light weight coverage & doesn’t end up getting cakey on my skin. I always have issues with foundations settling into my smile lines or around my nose but this doesn’t do that at all. It’s also a very long lasting foundation as well. Would I purchase it myself? Probably not only because it’s $39USD which is quite a lot of money in my opinion for a foundation.

Lastly in my hits is the Tarte Shape Tape Concealer – another very hyped up product but I really can’t complain about this product. It’s full coverage, comes in array of various shades & it doesn’t crease under my eyes. You also don’t need a lot of product so you can get away with using this for a few months before running out. The only thing that sets me back is, again, the price – this is $21CAD on the Tarte website which is really pricey for just a concealer – but it’s also worth the money as well.


Misses 

02.pngI had a ton of misses but I really tried hard to keep it to a minimum. I don’t like talking badly about products but these really didn’t work at all for me. Again, like I said before, if you love these products; I’m happy for you – they just didn’t work for me personally. This is also in no way trying to talk badly about the companies.

First up in my misses is the Tarte Swamp Queen palette. I’m on the fence about this one; the only thing I really don’t like about this palette is the fact that there’s chunky glitter in all the face shades & in the matte shadows. I don’t really reach for this palette that much because I have similar shades in other palettes that don’t have the glitter. The formula is amazing though – I’m a huge fan of Tarte’s formula when it comes to eye shadows. I was just really put off when I saw how much glitter was in a lot of the shades. If you’re into glitter then you’d probably really love this palette. I can work with most of the shades though which is why I’m on the fence – it’s really only in my misses because I don’t reach for it nearly as much as other palettes.

Secondly, was a product that was sent to me to review – which is the BesameCosmetics Brightening Vanilla Face Powder. The powder itself is really nice & smooth but when I used this to set underneath my eyes it literally made my skin look yellow. I feel like if this was a translucent powder it would’ve worked amazingly for my pale skin tone. If you have a darker complexion that I do, then it might work really nicely for you.

Now, I’m a huge fan of Maybelline products, I have quite a bit of their stuff – however, the Colossal Big Shot Mascara was a total miss for me. I really liked the wand but this stuff got super clumpy on my lashes within seconds. It kind of made me sad because I have other mascaras from Maybelline that I love & use daily – but this one in particular was definitely a no go for me.

Next is the Benefit Porefessional Primer – which is another product that’s super hyped up. This is supposed to be a pore minimizing primer but I don’t feel like it does that at all. It smooths my skin, yeah but it does nothing for my large pores. It also has a slightly greasy feel to it but then again it also clings to my dry areas – it’s just a weird formula that definitely didn’t work with my dry skin. However, since it’s pricey af I am going to use every bit of it otherwise that’s just money down the drain.

The next two products are both L’Oreal products – which are the Infallible Total Cover Foundation & the Infallible Lip Paints. The foundation is super full coverage but it felt really heavy on my skin & made me look cakey – which I’m not a fan of. It has a really thick formula so I found that using a brush was almost a necessity because a beauty blender just wasn’t blending it nicely – but when I used a brush it really clung to my dry spots. The Infallible lip paints (I have three all together) are really nice shades & have a nice doe foot applicator that has a little dip in it. Thing is, you need to layer this up to get them fully opaque & not patchy. They’re not matte which is something I prefer – they have a glossy sheen to them & transfer like crazy. Also the applicator with the dip isn’t super ideal if you have really uneven thin lips like I do.

3 thoughts on “February 2017: Hits & Misses

Leave a Reply

